ISA 2006 Firewall in Evaluation Status for Common Criteria Certification

by [Published on 24 July 2007 / Last Updated on 24 July 2007]

Common Criteria: A Global Security Standard

Many software products claim to make your networks secure, but how do you know for sure? Common Criteria (CC) is a framework for evaluating and certifying the security of IT products and systems that is recognized by governments and IT professionals around the world as a critical measure of the quality of an information technology security product. CC certification is increasingly used as one of the key decision-making criteria by local, federal, and international government agencies and is also becoming a key differentiator for many private-sector industries such as finance and healthcare. You can read more about CC on the Common Criteria site.

ISA Server 2006

Microsoft Internet Security and Acceleration (ISA) Server 2006 has been recently approved for certification of Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 4+ (EAL 4+). The certification work is in progress, performed by the Federal Office for Information Security, the Common Criteria certification body of the German government. Microsoft Internet Security and Acceleration (ISA) Server 2006 is now listed in the Evaluated Products List (EPL) of the BSI.

For more information:



Thomas W Shinder, M.D.



MVP — Microsoft Firewalls (ISA)

See Also

Review and Comments

* Required field

The Author — Debra Shinder

Debra Shinder avatar

DEBRA LITTLEJOHN SHINDER, MCSE, MVP (Security) is a technology consultant, trainer and writer who has authored a number of books on computer operating systems, networking, and security.

Featured Links